Main Cities in Israel

  • Main Cities in Israel
  • List of all cities in Israel

Main cities in Israel

Israel includes a total of 75 cities, 4 of them are considered as main cities which include government institutions.
Each of the four is functioning as a main city of the territorial district in Israel: Haifa in the Northern district, Tel Aviv in the Central district, Be'er Sheva in the Southern district and Jerusalem the Capital.

  • Jerusalem, Israel’s capital contains all the main offices of government. The Hebrew University of Jerusalem is ranked the top university in Israel. Apart from a political importance of the city, Jerusalem is a sacred place for three monotheistic religions – Judaism, Christianity and Islam.

  • Tel Aviv is known as “The City That Never Sleeps”. It is the center for commercial life and leisure in Israel, as it is located on the Israeli Mediterranean coastline. The city is known for its cosmopolitan lifestyle.

  • Haifa and the north, the northern capital, is also located on the Mediterranean coast and is a major seaport in Israel.The city has two respected academic institutions, the Technion and the University of Haifa.

  • Be'er Sheva and the south is known as the capital of the Negev.It serves as a commercial and industrial center for the Southern Israel.